New Re-Tuned Hymn - Behold the Throne of Grace!

I love old hymns. I don't mean old as in 1985. I mean old as in written by candle light, authored by men and women who never knew how much their words would be loved by the church. As I was preparing our worship for this coming Sunday I was hunting through my Trinity Hymnal for a good hymn on prayer. There is a lot to choose from, but not a lot that was familiar. How many hymns on prayer do you know of? Many echo the Psalms or speak of relying on God's sovereign hand. But I was looking for something fresh, at least fresh to me. Finding a fresh old hymn isn't an oxymoron. Just because it's old doesn't mean it can't be new. It's like finding a vintage bottle of wine that's increased its flavor as it was waiting to be discovered on an empty shelf. That's how I felt when I read the words to an old John Newton (author of Amazing Grace) hymn called "Behold the Throne of Grace!".

For some reason the words (written in 1779) struck me. However, the tune (written in 1844) needed updating in my humble opinion. So, I did what anyone would do. In the tradition of Indelible Grace and Red Mountain Music, I re-tuned the hymn. Below you'll find my attempt. I'm still getting used to my music software, but you'll get the idea of how it goes. Enjoy!


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Lord From Sorrows Deep I Call

Happy Anniversary?

Christ Is Mine Forevermore